NUS Semester 2 AY 10/11 results

I’m going to post my results in this blog post, so if you’re the kind who’s going to go ‘ugh what a dirty show off ugh’ if my results are good then don’t read on. Similarly, if you’re gonna go ‘rofl what a noob’ if my results are bad then don’t read on either.
Basically, if you’re a judgmental bitch, don’t read on.

I shall cover them from best to worst in terms of actual grade . I did a module review here, if you’re keen to read it.



PH2110 – Logic
Predicted Grade – B+
Actual Grade – A!
Thoughts:
Wow I didn’t expect an A for this! Even though I think my mid terms and finals were both aced, my online quizzes were really bad, like 1/10 and 2/10 or something. I guess EVERYONE also did that badly.. so it was evened out by bell curve.
I have a really good record with Philo mods! I should take more haha. Philosophy of Religion next sem! (or the sem after next)

PL3235 – Social Psychology
Predicted Grade – B+
Actual Grade – A-
Thoughts:
Hmm, nothing surprisingly here, was expecting somewhere around B+/A- because my mid terms were decent (not top notch so didnt expect A),Β  and my essay assignment got an A. Guess my finals was around A- level again, so I got this grade.

PL3232 – Biological Psychology
Predicted Grade – B
Actual Grade – B- 😦
Thoughts:

Aww damn. Got lower than I had hoped for. My mid terms didn’t do very well, and it was not a matter of not studying enough – I normally finish everything that I PLANNED to study. So it’s a problem of not planning to study enough lol.
Like imagine there are 100 bits of information in the textbook, and I selectively study 80. Then turns out they test on the remaining 20 bits of information instead.

My group’s presentations weren’t very good in my opinion, comparatively speaking (with the other groups’)
I don’t think my finals did THAT badly, probably about Bish standard again, so I guess my results are logical. 😦
Well, at least I didn’t fall to a C. Worse grade of my NUS life so far! 😦
Ok if you are keen you will realize I didn’t follow what I said of reporting them from the best to the worst… because I have alot to say for the last 2 haha.

PL2132 – Research and Statistical Methods 2
Predicted Grade – B+
Actual Grade – A- !??
Thoughts:
Wow. Mathematically speaking, this grade is outright IMPOSSIBLE.
I got a C+ for my lab report, a huge disappointment, and worth a big 25% of my overall grade.

The CAP points to grades are as follows:
5 points for A/A+,
4.5 for A-
4 for B+
3.5 for B
3 for B-
2.5 for C+

25% X 2.5 = 0.625
Assuming I get the best possible grades, As, for the rest of the components of the grade,
75% x 5 = 3.75

Total 3.75 + 0.625 = 4.375! That’s below the required 4.5 of an A- grade!

That means that even if I managed to get straight As for my 2 quizzes, mid terms, AND Finals.. it still shouldn’t be possible that I get A-! Because the BEST POSSIBLE SCORE I should get is 4.375, which is a B+

So I’ve no idea what happened here.. the only thing I can think of is that my lab report was not marked on a bell curve – e.g. my C+ was an absolute grade, and maybe noone got A? So after bell curving it was actually higher than C+.

The real shocker is the next one:

SSB2216 – Employee Management in Singapore
Predicted Grade – C
Actual Grade – A- !?!?!!!
Thoughts:

SHOCKER. SHOCKER.
When I received the NUS SMS this morning containing my results, I was first a little surprised with the number of A- I got, as I really did expect more Bs, but my eyes were locked on one phrase:
SSB2216 – A-

HOW IN THE WORLD?!?!

Let’s take it from the top. Our presentation. The moment my group concluded our presentation, my lecturer walked over to us and pulled us aside. I can’t remember her exact words, but the monologue went briefly like this:
“I was quite disappointed you know. I expected you all to do better. Everything is wrong! Besides that slide where you included the stats which was good, everything else was wrong! – points out what was wrong -. Wrong…Β  disappointed! bad! …. disapppointed….! wrong! ” (those were the few words that stood out)

So ok our presentation went horribly. Then for our report, her qualitative feedback wasn’t exactly positive either. I can’t remember what she said besides the fact that it wasn’t generally positive.
Same goes for my individual article analysis – I was pretty sure I was out of point too lol. Coupled with her negative comments … gone.

So there are 2 components left – class participation and finals.

I must say my class participation SHOULD be pretty decent… I speak up almost every week and the lecturer definitely knows me well by name. I would think I am in the top % of the class in this component? Because most people dont really speak up in class! So I’m lucky.

And finals… I basically smoked my way through? It’s really a GP-style kind of thing and I just smoked both essays and really didn’t know what I was writing. Didn’t plan out my essays well beforehand, and was just writing as much nonsense as I can and throwing in fake facts/stats possible facts as usual like GP LOL.
Guess my smoke was smokey enough!
Because as compared to my project group mates I did do considerably better, so I think was my smokey essay and class participation that put me ahead. :S

But really really shocked with this grade, and thankful also of course! πŸ˜€

Yup so A A- B- A- A- = 4.3, and with my last sem’s CAP of 4.4, my overall CAP is now 4.35 !
Whew, still in safe zone. Hope can do better next sem and push it closer to 4.5! (Wow I need a 5 next sem to even get above 4.5 mad.)

Thank God for the decent results anyhooo.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “NUS Semester 2 AY 10/11 results

  1. Anonymous

    hey alan, saw ur post. anyway i'm currently taking introduction to psychology as a module for special semester. do you happen to remember how the short questions for the paper is like cause the lecturer refuse to tell us anything. thanks;)

  2. Anonymous

    hey alan, saw ur post. anyway i'm currently taking introduction to psychology as a module for special semester. do you happen to remember how the short questions for the paper is like cause the lecturer refuse to tell us anything. thanks;)

  3. alan

    yea it's something like short essay? Like I remember one of the questions was like 'Describe the 4 major aspects of depression' Then you've to elaborate on emotional/cognitive/physio etc.

    Gotta know your content well to know how to elaborate πŸ™‚

  4. alan

    yea it's something like short essay? Like I remember one of the questions was like 'Describe the 4 major aspects of depression' Then you've to elaborate on emotional/cognitive/physio etc.

    Gotta know your content well to know how to elaborate πŸ™‚

  5. Anonymous

    i see. thank you so much;).

    but the content seems so heavy and the lecturer is not helping by adding more content.

  6. Anonymous

    i see. thank you so much;).

    but the content seems so heavy and the lecturer is not helping by adding more content.

  7. alan

    PL1101 is notorious for being ridiculously content heavy. I have commented a few times to my friends that it is suicidal to take it during Special Term since we spend 13 weeks covering it normally, and it's already so damn heavy, Special Term is cramming it in 5-6 weeks? Madness.

    Just read what you can and hope for the best I guess :\

  8. alan

    PL1101 is notorious for being ridiculously content heavy. I have commented a few times to my friends that it is suicidal to take it during Special Term since we spend 13 weeks covering it normally, and it's already so damn heavy, Special Term is cramming it in 5-6 weeks? Madness.

    Just read what you can and hope for the best I guess :\

  9. Anonymous

    Hi,

    I'm going NUS FASS this year, aiming to major in psychology. Thanks for the info in this post!
    πŸ™‚

  10. Anonymous

    Hi,

    I'm going NUS FASS this year, aiming to major in psychology. Thanks for the info in this post!
    πŸ™‚

  11. gedeon

    hey alan, just curious, who was your social psych lecturer during sem 2 ay10/11?

  12. gedeon

    hey alan, just curious, who was your social psych lecturer during sem 2 ay10/11?

  13. Pingback: NUS Module Review Semester 2 AY 10/11 | this is alan's blog

  14. Yuli

    Hi, after reading your review, Im considering to take PH2110 next sem and would like to ask whether you have the soft copy of the notes and all the quizzes as well as the exam paper. If you don’t mind may you send it to me. my email is e0053144@u.nus.edu

Leave a comment